NTI employees receive and maintain the appropriate certifications based on the requirements of the engineering, construction and testing industries. These certifications demonstrate our high level of professionalism, client satisfaction and commitment to quality. Some of these certifications include:


AASHTO – American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials

The AASHTO Accreditation Program (AAP) recognizes the Competency of a testing laboratory in construction materials testing.  The program is available to all laboratories including independent laboratories, manufacturers’ in-house laboratories, university laboratories, and government laboratories.

ACI – American Concrete Institute

ACI offers 14 certification programs designed to form a minimum qualification for personnel employed within the concrete construction industry.  Certification examinations and optional training courses are conducted through an international network of over 100 Local Sponsoring Groups.

AWS – American Welding Society

The purpose of this standard for AWS Certified Welders is to document the ability of welders to deposit sound welds and to impose controls on the documentation and maintenance of certification.  The American Welding Society offers a number of certification programs to assist industry in identifying qualified welding personnel and to provide opportunities for welding professionals to demonstrate their qualifications to the welding industry.

ICC – International Code Council

The ICC is dedicated to developing model codes and standards used in the design, build and compliance process to construct safe, sustainable, affordable and resilient structures.  The International Codes, or I-Codes, are a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention codes.  Fifty states and the District of Columbia have adopted the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level.


IFC – International Firestop Council

The International Firestop Council introduces the first comprehensive Firestop Special Inspection education and certificate program. The 2012 International Building Code requires special inspection of firestopping for buildings over 75 feet in height, and category III and IV buildings.

MNDOT – Minnesota Department of Transportation

This program is like other technician certification/qualification programs currently being offered across the United States.  Most state transportation departments across the nation require some sort of certification for construction and/or materials testing technicians.  These programs vary somewhat from state to state but have a common theme;  they gauge technical expertise and ensure a minimum level of competency.

NDDOT – North Dakota Department of Transportation

Asphalt and aggregate training classes are held in cooperation with Dakota Asphalt Pavement Association (DAPA).  Instructors are hired by DAPA.  DOT employees serves as examiners for the performance exams which are held at the Materials and Research lab or at the district offices as needed.  Class participants include DOT, contractors, consultants, counties, cities and various other entities.  The asphalt training classes are a result of the QC/QA.

US Army Corp of Engineers

The Materials Testing Center conducts inspections to validate the capability of a laboratory to perform specific tests as required by contract with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.